The world needs science – science needs women

Since 1998, a public-private partnership between L’Oréal and UNESCO has promoted women in science. The L’Oréal-UNESCO Awards For Women in Science recognises outstanding women researchers who have contributed to scientific progress.

These scientists are role models for the next generation, encouraging young women around the world to follow in their footsteps.

Firstly the international scientific community proposes candidates. Next two juries – one in the Life Sciences and the other in the Material Sciences – meet every alternate year to select laureates from these fields.

The UNESCO-L’Oréal International Fellowships offer 15 promising young women scientists crucial international experience that they can bring back and share with others in their home countries.

The partnership also provides L’Oréal National Fellowships with support from UNESCO national commissions. National Fellowship programs exist in 20 countries, respecting the countries specific science needs. L’Oréal Australia is launching its National Fellowships at the WCSJ; Fellows will be announced in September 2007.

Pr. Christian De Duve, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1974 is the founding president of the awards.

For more information: L’Oreal Australia,

Megan Ryan, Tel: +61 3 9928 3339,